We have a rich history and continue to be an important role for the Catholic Church.
St. Pius X Parish History
At present St. Pius X membership consists of about 543 households with a total school population, Pre-School through Grade 8, of 180. There is also a very active Parish School of Religion on Sunday mornings for those in other schools than St. Pius. St. Pius strives to be a welcoming, friendly community with a vibrant spiritual life and an equally vibrant sense of community and service to others. Explore our History through the timeline below. Click Here for a timeline of St. Pius X's Pastors.
* May 15, 1953: Bishop George Rehring of the Diocese of Toledo established Blessed Pius X Parish (Pope Pius X had not yet been canonized a saint). Most of the territory of Blessed Pius X Parish was appropriated from Blessed Sacrament Parish, along with a small portion from Gesu. It consisted of about 650 households.
** June 1, 1953: Ground was broken for a combined church and school on a ten-acre plot of land extending south from Carskaddon. The cornerstone was laid on August 16, by Fr. William Buckley, then Provincial Superior of the Oblates of St. Francis de Sales, assisted by Fr. Stahl and Fr. Toy.
*** 1973: Fr. Cryan was also named Associate Pastor. Both Fr. Brennen and Fr. Cryan subsequently became pastors. Fr Brennen from 1978-1984 and Fr. Cryan from1984-1991. Fr. Cryan began his tenure of office by initiating collaborative ministry in the parish. He developed a Pastoral Team and was instrumental in reorganizing parish ministries into a commission system.
*** 1989: The first phase of parish development was completed. The former convent was renovated to provide a Parish Center with meeting rooms, kitchen and offices. A Capital Campaign with the theme TOGETHER WE BUILD FOR THE FUTURE began in the fall of 1989 and ended December 31, 1992.
St. Pius X Parish Pastors